Solon

Solon is the point of origin for the Old Canada Road Scenic Byway at Robbins Hill Scenic Overlook and Visitors Center, the beginning of 78 miles of history, adventure and outstanding views four seasons of the year. Solon was once home to grueling log drives and also home to an extensive farming community.

Solon boasts The South Solon Meeting House, a historic church built in 1842 that was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. A traditional colonial church with classic revival features, original pews, choir loft and pulpit remain in place. Ceilings and walls are elaborately decorated with fresco artwork painted in the 1950s by local artists of The Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. The meeting house welcomes visitors seven days a week or visit www.southsolonmeetinghouse.org

For additional Solon information visit  solon.maine.gov